Happy Living in Nicaragua

As I sit here on our porch looking out over the streets of San Juan, I look up at the clear sky filled with stars and can’t help but have a huge smile on my face. The electricity is out and the whole town is dark. But I can hear laughter, music, conversation in Spanish and the different sounds of the tropical night animals surrounding me. All is perfect in the world at this moment. I needed this. Needed this move, needed this life change, needed this country, needed these people. To show me what life is really all about. How to truly be happy. How to truly connect with people. How to communicate your personalty without speaking the same language. As I sit here, I realize that I have learned more about myself and the world around me in the last month than I have my whole life. My passions have never been more ignited than they are here right now. It’s very personal. Nicaragua has given me so much that it brings me so much joy to give back to it in every way I can.

Jonathon is siting next to me in the other rocking chair holding my hand and taking it all in as well. My partner. I can feel the happiness and love in the air around us all. I’ve never seen a clearer night sky with so many stars in it, I almost feel as though we’re in a movie. All of the sudden, the lights come back on and everyone cheers.

It was nice to have a moment of quiet reflection while it lasted. Back to living life with electricity again. Although now I’m thinking that sometimes the benefits of the power outages here outweigh the inconveniences. At least that’s the attitude here: things are never really as bad as you think they are. Amazing how the people who have almost nothing actually feel like they have everything. And maybe it’s because they do.

I know it’s difficult to understand how power outages can actually be a good thing–so if you can’t make it out here to Nicaragua to experience it yourself, at least turn off the lights, go outside and take some time to reflect.

“Laugh as much as you breath and love as long as you live”

9 responses to “Happy Living in Nicaragua

  1. You could definitely see your skills within the article you write.

    The world hopes for even more passionate writers like you who aren’t afraid to mention how they believe. Always follow your heart.

  2. Thanks for a marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed
    reading it, you might be a great author. I will remember to bookmark your blog and may come back in the future.
    I want to encourage that you continue your great writing,
    have a nice morning!

  3. HI! i am so happy that you are enjoying your life and stay in Nicaragua 🙂 My name is karen and im thinking about moving to Nicaragua also, ive been researching all over for more information and saw your page. I want to live a more simple life and away from all the superficial things here in Miami.

    I would love to hear more information about Nicaragua if you can.

    please email me at my email it is
    Karen.bernal3@gmail.com or you can reply back here.

    Thank you !! 🙂 and wish you the best!

  4. I also want to volunteer so i can help in the community please let me know, i will be traveling by myself so i hope i can meet awesome people like you

Leave a Reply

