Does Jonathon Have Dengue?

The lab technician came out with the results–I was negative for Dengue!!! Awesome. I was so excited, despite being extremely fatigued. OK, well then what the hell was it? I had literally never been this sick before. Perhaps it is a horrible Central American type flu that just beat my weak American immune system up. I didn’t know and I was a bit confused by what the results actually said.

Life Out of the Box in Laguna de Apoyo, Nicaragua

I did, however, understand the note the doctor gave me instructing me to pick up the prescribed medication at the pharmacy. We headed over to the pharmacy desk and grabbed a handful of rehydrating salt packets. I asked Juancito where I was supposed to pay and he explained that it was all free, but that I could put money in the donation box if I wanted to. I grabbed a handful of bills from my pocket and put them in the box, extremely thankful for their services.

Life Out of the Box in Laguna de Apoyo, Nicaragua

I got home and went straight to bed. The next day my skin started getting little red itchy bumps everywhere. I mean all over my entire body.

Life Out of the Box in Laguna de Apoyo, Nicaragua

What the heck was going on with me? I knew that the rash could be a symptom of Dengue but my blood test said that I was tested negative for it. The more I thought about it, the more I realized that almost every symptom I had had was a symptom of Dengue.  Were the test results possibly wrong?

Life Out of the Box in Laguna de Apoyo, Nicaragua

I got out of bed and showed the staff the rash that covered both of my legs as well as the negative test results from the hospital the day before. Right away, as if a light bulb exploded in their head, they immediately widened their eyes and took a huge step back as they said: “Sarampión”.

What the f*** is Sarampión?

The article in photos: 

7 responses to “Does Jonathon Have Dengue?

  1. Sarampion: definition: A tropical condition caused by excessive exposure to warm weather, prolonged sun bathing, a narcoleptic lifestyle and unfettered beer consumption! Living the highly enviable Champagne Lifestyle on the Budweiser Budget…….

    Go for it Son, and thanks for showing us all how to really live!
    Dad
    PS: Get well soon please!

      • Thanks Jon… I didn’t think anyone read it!

        See you soon. Off to the Moscone for the Auto Show reception then 11am flight to Argentina tomorrow. 20 hours flying!! Ugh!! See picture of the girls last night after dinner.

        Be safe, have fun and we will see you soon.
        Love dad

  2. Oh my–being sick in a foreign country is always an adventure! When my husband and I first got to Shanghai we both had some sickness that included the worst sore throats we had ever had. We hadn’t been that sick in 35 years! I do hope you’re getting the treatment you need. I think what you two are doing is fabulous! I wish you every success!

    • Well it’s nice to hear that we’re not the only ones!! Being that sick sure does boost your immune system, on the positive side 🙂

      Thank you very mush for your kind words and positive wishes. Please keep in touch!

      Best,
      Quinn & Jonathon

Leave a Reply

