A Huge Rain Storm in Nicaragua

Although the last few days had been filled with a lot of unknowns and fear, I was finally relieved and happy that Jonathon was feeling much better. His rash was slowly going away and the cream helped the itchiness at night when it was usually the worst. He was finally able to get out of bed, have a full meal and was starting to get color back into his face. He had lost a lot of weight from being sick for a week, so my goal for the next week was to feed him as much steak, eggs, bread, fried plantains and anything else fatty as he could physically eat. It was hard not having my partner and teammate 100%, we both needed him back to health. Also, surprisingly, I never got the measles (hooray!!!!) and I never got a shot either regardless of everyone being certain that I would. Who knows, maybe the Dengue really boosted my immune systems to incredible new heights.

Life Out of the Box in Laguna de Apoyo, Nicaragua

Luckily, we were starting to close up the hostel for the next month. The hostel closes down completely for a month in the low season because there are so few tourists in Nicaragua during that time and it’s usually the rainiest month of the year. We were excited to have the whole resort to ourselves all month long–our own personal oasis. With almost no guests at the hostel, it was the perfect time for JB to be able to recover.

Life Out of the Box in Laguna de Apoyo, Nicaragua

A few days after the resort closed, while JB and I were cooking lunch in the kitchen, the wind started picking up faster than I’d ever felt it before in Nicaragua. Almost everyday, around 3pm, a short tropical storm would pass over the hostel and lake for 10-15mins. The first sign of the storm is always the increase in wind, but this was more intense than ever. I ran over to the green tarp in the dining area to close off the kitchen so the wind and rain wouldn’t get inside or knock things over. I looked down the stairwell to the lake and noticed a huge increase in the waves–it looked like an ocean! “The waves look like you could surf them right now babe,” I said jokingly.

Life Out of the Box in Laguna de Apoyo, Nicaragua

Then, the white wall came. It’s probably my favorite part of the tropical storms we have here. It’s a thick white wall of rain that you can actually see coming towards you as the storm gets closer. As it gets to the middle of the crater, you can no longer see to the other side–it’s just all white. This rain wall was no exception and with the strongest wind I’d ever felt along with it–I knew we were in for a big one.

Life Out of the Box in Laguna de Apoyo, Nicaragua

I went back inside the kitchen to check on the Mac & Cheese when all of the sudden, we heard a huge crack and then a loud BOOM. At that very instant John looked at me with terror in his eyes and yelled, “Quinn, watch out!!” He ran over to me, but the truth was that there was really no time to do anything. We both closed our eyes and squeezed tightly to each other. Then it was just quiet rain.

Life Out of the Box in Laguna de Apoyo, Nicaragua

We both looked at each other and then ran outside the kitchen to look: a giant tree had fallen down on the main deck. Thank goodness it had fallen that way because if it had fallen the other way, onto the kitchen, JB and I would have been toast.

Life Out of the Box in Laguna de Apoyo, Nicaragua

Life Out of the Box in Laguna de Apoyo, Nicaragua

We stood there looking at this giant tree in the middle of the stairway, on top of the main deck and even into the lounge area. It snapped the cable wire that was hanging between the roof of the main house and the kitchen. What the heck do we do now? It was just us two, but we were thankful that no one was hurt and that nothing was really damaged. We were lucky.

Life Out of the Box in Laguna de Apoyo, Nicaragua

Life Out of the Box in Laguna de Apoyo, Nicaragua

Life Out of the Box in Laguna de Apoyo, Nicaragua

The rain stopped and we were left with a bunch of wet tree debris everywhere. In the silence after the storm, I started sweeping the lounge area and JB started chopping at the tree with the machete.

Life Out of the Box in Laguna de Apoyo, Nicaragua

Then, SNAP–the power went out and the emergency lights flashed on above us.

Life Out of the Box in Laguna de Apoyo, Nicaragua

We started laughing. From Dengue to Measles and now this. This was our random life –everyday is a new and interesting adventure.

The article in photos: 

8 responses to “A Huge Rain Storm in Nicaragua

  1. WOW! So much going on for you both! I am glad that Jonathon is well and I am also glad that you did not get the measles! Thank goodness that tree fell the way it did. That white wall of rain sounds like quite a sight! I was stopping by to say thank you for liking my post and I was so intrigued by your profile description that I had to come find you and check things out. I hope you both are having a good day!

  2. You guys are gonna have so many awesome stories to tell your grandkids. I’m gonna have a regular part of my econ class be “What’s up with Quinn and Jonathon this week?” I’m so glad you guys weren’t hurt.
    Warmth and Peace

    • Haha you’re so right, what a great way to think about it! Would be honored if you did that in your class–will be sure to try and stay out of these predicaments as much as possible but no promises 🙂

      Thanks for your always thoughtful and wonderful words Robert. Looking forward to talking to you soon!

      Best,
      Quinn & Jonathon

Leave a Reply

